Method

The capacity to manage dualities has been at the heart of our approach for over thirty years.

Back to Process

Drawing up a mental map

At Leclercq Associés there is no prescription, but, rather, a method based on recycling experiences and a process of permanent cross-fertilisation. From the details of execution to the most complex schema, our projects result from a constant balance between the cognitive and the intuitive designed to establish a mental map.

Simultaneously convoking economics, the sub-soil and geography, architect-urbanists are authorised to go beyond the programme and imagine all aspects of the territory.
Creating with

Shunning preciousness, Leclercq Associés conducts thoroughgoing research and accumulates a considerable amount of knowledge in order to apply a simple, readable approach free of factual imbroglio. Based on a detailed understanding of the territory, a narrative emerges and gives form to the project at hand. At that point, creativity is stimulated by a range of methods and techniques, including studies, designs, texts, mock-ups, sketches… Everyone is invited to contribute their ideas, including our interns.

Cutting machine
Model workshop Cutting machine
Constructing an history

Bringing out the best in something that seems banal, providing a vision of the future, finding the right expression, cracking a joke… Telling a beautiful story in order to get backers and users on board, Leclercq et Associés supply essential tools for regional marketing. The firm thereby fulfills one of the indispensable missions of the contemporary architect-urbanist. 

The exceptional in the ordinary: architecture and the city considered as a day-to-day adventure.
Mediation tools

Various means of communication are used by Leclercq Associés to adapt the description of the project to various phases, to problematics encountered, and to recipients. Scale models, digital mock-ups, graphic discourse, sketches are involved in a major work of synthesis is designed to express the essential.

Photographs: Alex Cretey Systermans

Méthode

La capacité à gérer les dualités est au cœur de notre pratique depuis plus de 30 ans. 

Revenir à Approche

Établir une carte mentale

Chez Leclercq Associés, pas de recette, mais une méthode qui se fonde sur le recyclage d’expériences et les croisements permanents. Du détail d’exécution au schéma urbain le plus complexe, les projets résultent d’un balancement constant entre le cognitif et l’intuitif pour dresser une carte mentale du projet.

Convoquant simultanément l’économie, les sous-sols, la géographie, les architectes-urbanistes sont autorisés à aller bien au-delà du programme pour penser le territoire dans toutes ses dimensions.
Documenter la création

Loin du “geste” Beaux-Arts, Leclercq Associés recherche et accumule une somme de connaissances considérables afin de conserver une figure simple, lisible, libérée de l’imbroglio factuel. Émerge alors une trame narrative issue d’une compréhension très primaire du territoire et à partir de laquelle s’envisage le projet. Tout est bon ensuite pour stimuler la créativité: études, dessins, textes, maquettes, croquis… Chacun est invité à apporter sa contribution à la réflexion, stagiaire compris.

Machine à découpe
Atelier maquettes Machine à découpe
Construire une histoire

Mettre en valeur ce qui semblait banal, donner une vision de l’avenir, trouver la formule pertinente, faire un bon mot… En racontant une belle histoire afin de susciter l’adhésion des commanditaires comme des usagers, Leclercq Associés fournit les outils essentiels pour le marketing territorial. L’agence remplit ainsi l’une des missions incontournables de l’architecte-urbaniste contemporain.

Un ordinaire exceptionnel: l’architecture et la ville pensées comme une aventure vécue au quotidien.
Outils de médiation

Différents moyens de communication sont utilisés par Leclercq Associés pour adapter la description du projet selon les phases, les problématiques rencontrées et les destinataires. Maquette, maquette numérique, discours graphique, croquis... Il s’agit là d’un important travail de synthèse qui vise à exprimer l’essentiel.

Photographies: Alex Cretey Systermans